Make your own free website on Tripod.com

A Brief History of

Elmer O. Smith Lodge No. 307, F.&A.M.

Current Lodge

The founding fathers met at the Pinellas Park Feed store to practice the work necessary to constitute a Lodge. When they gained sufficient proficiency they applied to the Grand Lodge of Florida for a Charter.

The Lodge first met in the Bailey Building on Park Blvd. Leon A. "Gus" Thomas was the first Worshipful Master under dispensation from the Grand Lodge of Florida in 1952.

First Masonic Temple used from 1955 until 1962. It was located on the South side of 75th Ave across from current Temple. Fortune Federal purchased the land and the monies were used to build the current Lodge.

 

Bailey Hall November 19,1951

An occasional Lodge U.D. of Master Masons was opened by R.W. Brother Robert W. Clark D.D.G.M. at 7:30 PM with 66 Master Masons present.

Officers
L.A. Thomas W.M.
.............................................. Jack Garvin S.D.
R.A. Smith S.W.
...................................................W.E. Miller J.D.
W.F. Acker J.W.
...................................................John Cockroft Stew
Geo. Marsh Trea
..................................................F.L. Prince Stew
C.L. Thayer Sec'y
.................................................Geo. Thornburgh Tiler
F.M. McKee Chap

R.W. Brother Clark presented the Disposition to the Lodge which was read to the Assembly by the Secretary.

Brother Thomas explained the reason for the name of our Lodge (The Elmer O. Smith Lodge, U.D.). In honor of the Senior Warden's father, who was a 50 year Mason before passing on.

It was announced that 80 aprons were donated the new Lodge by the Pinellas Park Order of the Eastern Star #234.

 

Bailey Hall November 26, 1951

The Secretary of the Lodge was instructed to write to the First Presbyterian Church thanking them for the use of the Church prior to our U.D., and offering to pay for the use of it.

It was announced that the St. Petersburg Scottish Rite Club was donating the Officers Jewels to Elmer O. Smith Lodge U.D

 

Baily Hall May 5, 1952


An occasional Lodge of Master Masons was opened on the Master Mason Degree in due form for the purpose of Dedicating and Constituting a Regular Lodge of Master Masons.

M.W Perry R. Marsh, Grand Master of the M.W. Grand Lodge of the State of Florida was introduced.

The Grand Secretary read the Charter to those assembled.

The Lodge was consecrated by the M.W. Grand Master.

 

Interesting Facts


Elmer O. Smith's son Russell A. Smith was the Lodge's first elected Worshipful Master.

Elmo D. Burns PM, was the Lodge's first Gold Card holder.

Lawrence L. Hill PM, was the Mayor of Pinellas Park for eight years.

James H. Justice PM, the fifteenth Worshipful Master was the youngest to serve at that time.

Donald J. Minor PM was the first Worshipful Master to be elected to serve twice.

Daniel Harris PM served as Lodge Secretary for 24 years.

Carlyle L. Thayer PM served as Lodge Secretary for 10 years.

John B. Hemphill PM was a carpenter by trade and helped do the framing for our lodge.

John C. Bowman PM was the Fire Chief Station #2 in St. Petersburg and started the para-medic program for St. Petersburg.

Brother George Muller drew the blue prints for the Lodge. He was a retired Admiral. He was fluent in seventeen languages. As a result he was recalled to active duty during the Vietnam War to act as an interpreter.

Brother George Llamsa was an archeologist who spent his last 23 years before retirement in the Jerusalem area, searching for the remains of King Solomon's Temple. He translated the bible on display by the Tiler's post.

 

top